In All Seriousness…

Alright folks. You might need to sit down for this. Maybe not. I mean, do what you want, but…

This post may be slightly more serious than usual, as I’m about to lay out some truth.

Our truth anyway.

It’s been just over a year since we bought the place. A year in lessons, pacing, humbling, budgeting, troubleshooting, troubleshooting…and more troubleshooting…and though we looked back on a bittersweet year, we celebrated a few hard earned lessons:

1. It’s easy to get frustrated, and miss “it”.

Trust me, I’m not saying that I’ve figured it all out. Being thankful is something I have to remind myself of daily when it comes to this place. Truly, the house has been a gift in a number of ways. Disguised at times…apparent at others.

Good things like sweet neighbors, space, quiet, a garden to grow food, the house as a blank canvas, and safe place…

These are all wonderful, but hard to remember when it’s dirty, difficult, disillusioning, costly, or a time-suck. It’s easy to let myself be frustrated, tired, isolated, overwhelmed, and blah blah blah…

In many ways, or all ways, thankfulness is a choice, and daily one at that. Despite the circumstances.

We choose to be thankful… for how much we’ve learned this last year, the purpose in the learning, and what’s to come.

2. Work hard, but share the load.

Initially, it was a cluster. I mean, a cluster. we were both doing everything and then redoing everything.

Remember this? Ugh. It’s painful to look at. Or this…I was covered in drywall dust more often than not. See?

IMG_2590

Thank God for time, dare I say wisdom? No. Probably not yet. How about “routine”? Because that’s what’s happened.

This is what I mean…

Michael works ahead of me with the heavier portions of jobs. Meaning the ones that involve carpentry, cutting, power tools, you know things that I’m not fully comfortable with.

I follow along with finish work. This being drywall, sanding, caulking, spackling, painting, cleaning, and all of those fun things people do during renovations…things I didn’t know how to do a year ago.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The point is: Share the work. It’s not all him, and it’s not all me. I have the benefit of working at home and picking away at projects during a regular day. Michael doesn’t. If I can ease his mind by finishing out a hallway or a room…then by god I’m doing it. But you better believe he has to stay ahead of this whirlwind.

3. Rest. And it’s ok to rest. Living and working in the chaos, constant projects, unplanned expenses, the mess, the dust, and doing life in and around all of it requires rest.

And cider. Breweries. Breweries with friends. Netflix.

Or some time in the garden. New furniture flips. Enjoying Spring.

Whatever not doing housework looks like for you…do it.

#lessonslearned

Leave a Reply

